Sparkle it Up: Toward a Better Blog Page

*talented crafter award

Wow! Some of the blogs I have been reading recently are incredibly beautiful.

Look at this, and this and this!

I’m not just referencing the content, which is so amazing to be sure. So much variety – including uproariously funny, richly informative, and deeply soulful. But also the design. I aspire!

My blog at present is quite basic. I like it. I used a WordPress template. But I want to improve the look of it in addition to the focus. I write about such a crazy variety of topics, but I’m seeing that many blogs are set up to manage this, like this beautiful and informative blog by Amanda Isberg.

I want that Wordle thing.

I want the licensing thing.

I want the variety of buttons and information too.

I’m hoping to learn how to do that with this Blogging 101 course I signed up for. It’s running over the course of this month. The line-up looks great.  And the folks running it are super supportive.

But I didn’t stop with that. I seem to jump in with both feet when I start something, and blogging is no exception. I also signed on for the March Slice of Life Challenge, committing to posting on my blog every day for 31 days. I’m on day four here. These people feel like my people. They’re encouraging me to write and publish on my blog. They comment, and give me feedback that builds me up and it’s keeping me going.

I’m kind of excited about all the links I was able to add to this post. I think I’m overusing them at this point, and I’m sure I’ll calm down about it now that I’ve figured out how to use them. They are really cool though, right?

I’ll leave you with this: I’ve been thinking about possible blog titles. So far, I haven’t narrowed it down but here are some possibilities.

Snap, Spring, Sparkle

Stretch, Share, Sparkle:

Be Brave, Be Certain, Be You

Anchors and Reflections:  On life and learning along the way

Fully Engaged

Engage, Act, Reflect

Reflections

Stop, Sit, Write.

Read, Write, Reflect

All In

Bloom, Break, Be

Listen, Learn, Love

Listen First, Write Later

Break It In

Seems I like things in threes, doesn’t it? Which one do you like? I haven’t quite settled on one of these, maybe the right one is still out there. Blog on!

 

*Thank you to pepperpi for the beautiful blog award image!

About Be Strong. Be Courageous. Be You

Principal at the Sweetest Little School by the Sea at the north end of Los Angeles Harbor. Working to make the world a little more awesome.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sparkle it Up: Toward a Better Blog Page

  1. Lindsey says:

    I absolutely love Be brave. Be certain. Be you! You are doing so awesome. I think the best way to do it is to jump in too, that’s what I did. Happy blogging. I look forward to reading more from you!

    Like

    • daywells says:

      Thank you Lindsay. I wrote that one and have it on my email and I think on my blog at present. Just not sure my blog says what I’m about yet. Not sure if I am sure yet so I guess that is fitting!

      Like

      • Lindsey says:

        Lol, I totally understand not being sure yet. I am still trying to find my place in all of this. Oh well, it’s a marathon, not a sprint. We have plenty of time to figure it out.

        Like

  2. franmcveigh says:

    I like Snap, Spring, Sparkle!

    ❤ Isn't it great when we jump headfirst and with GREAT enthusiasm into multiple learning events! Blogging 101 and SOL! YOU can do it!

    Like

  3. I feel like I should be able to do more with my blog, but I am not tech savvy enough. Thanks for the compliment on it!

    Fun poem too. I always feel shy about sharing poems. Way to be brave!

    -Amanda

    Like

  4. Mindi Rench says:

    Crazy can be good! I love how you’re embracing this new learning. And with a WordPress blog, no less. I’m a Blogger girl, though my school website is a WordPress template. I struggle with getting it to do what I want. Luckily, my husband is a web developer, so if I can’t figure it out, he can usually help me.

    Isn’t it fun to be a learner?

    Like

Leave a Reply

