10 Things Currently 

Thank you to Two Writing Teachers for this idea on SOL15 Day 10. Also gratitude for the mentor text, ‘Currently’, Beverly Baird!

 

Listening to the car’s engine idle while sitting in the parking lot before my daughter’s year end Youth & Government banquet writing away on my Slice for today.

Eating nothing at present. I’m headed to a banquet…probably some awesome chicken dinner up in there.

Drinking again, not a thing. Finished a big glass of water at the last meeting I came from this afternoon. It was SO cold and thirst quenching.  I’m ready for another.

Wearing work clothes, lavender button down dress shirt, a necklace I love that my son gave me on mothers day several years ago, gray slacks.  Shoes off while I blog. Oh yes, and my bright green Fitbit bracelet. Might as well pop a little color.

Reading lots! Depends on when and where. Professionally, I’m reading Lean In and In the Best Interest of Students, Kelly Gallagher’s newest release. Also looking closely at Teachers College Units of Study in argument and opinion writing across K-6 for connections to California History and Social Science standards. I loved finding such richness in the kindergarten persuasive unit this week.

Feeling excited at the prospect of heading to TCRWP to copresent with Cornelius Minor on content area literacy for the next Saturday reunion. Wow!

Wanting to be done with this long awards banquet honoring pretty much every kid in youth and government for the last decade. Yay kids… Let’s go home!

Needing Time to write, think, plan and rest.

Thinking that this whole spirit fingers thing the kids do is at once adorable and a little strange. I like how it gives a chance for young people who are exuberant about what’s going on with out whooo hoo-ing. Okay, weird, but they’re adorable.

Enjoying getting to sit and reflect upon a lifetime of mommying my girl during this very long banquet. Now she is a beautiful young woman at the threshold of the next part of her life. Tonight is the beginning of a couple of months of “last times”. Get the tissues ready.

Wishing childhood could be spread out over a lifetime with nice breaks for rest, self care, and following my dreams too. Holding onto the sweet connection with these children who have brought incredible depth of experience to my life. Gratitude.

 

About Be Strong. Be Courageous. Be You

Principal at the Sweetest Little School by the Sea at the north end of Los Angeles Harbor. Working to make the world a little more awesome.
This entry was posted in Lists, SOL2015, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 10 Things Currently 

  1. I Loved your format!! I loved the topic!! Thank you for doing such a great job!!!

    Like

  2. Mandy Robek says:

    Wishing is my favorite line, enjoy and savor.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. franmcveigh says:

    Dayna,
    Love your take on “Currently” which is my new favorite format. Finding that kids really like it too!!! So easy to express many ideas, thoughts, and even emotions! (So did you have chicken at your banquet?)

    Like

    • daywells says:

      It was fun to write. Yesterday was such a challenge to get my slice done… Pieced it together and thankfully Julieanne posted from the same banquet somewhere far across the very large full room! The format of ‘Currently’ made it possible!

      And yep! Chicken. (Pasta, salad, fruit, potato salad & mashed potato along with veggies). Ha!

      Like

  4. Glad you liked the “Currently” format as much as I did.

    I’m off to google spirit fingers. That’s a new one to me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

