Oh No!

flowers for my BFF

Flowers for my BFF

I let myself down tonight.

I’ve committed to this blogging every day for 31 days.  I’m half way through.  I have done it faithfully each and every day.  Some days I have been able to post right when the link goes up at 9:00 pm Pacific time.  I had made the limit each day even when we lost an hour last weekend.

But then, tonight happened: a colossal sequence of events.

You see, yesterday I realized that one of my all time BFF’s birthday was today.  I made a mental note to make a celebration for her.  Then I got involved, invested, wrapped up completely today as I often do in my work which I love so much. The day passed too quickly, and suddenly it was evening.

After work, I took my dog for a quick walk, put him in the car and kept my dinner date waiting as he ran me by the store. There I bought my BFF some dazzlingly bright and tacky flowers. I tied on a shark balloon and wrote out a heartfelt card expressing how

Silly Smiley Shark Balloon for my BFF

Silly Smiley Shark Balloon for my BFF

very much I value our friendship. My dinner date was kind enough to take me to her house to drop off my gift. And my BFF was there! She was so glad to see me. I got to hug her in person on her special day. It felt great to share a moment with my friend.

Then, starving, dinner date and I, and my dog (who is staying with me for the last couple of weeks I have this condo before I move into a beautiful apartment with a killer view that doesn’t allow for my best canine friend) stopped into a neighborhood restaurant for a quick dinner. We enjoyed dinner while I also texted back and forth with my 19-year-old son who is away at college and in great need of a new phone. I still knew I had a couple of hours before my post had to be up and ready.  I knew I could do it.

iphone 6 plus

Critical! College Son Needs New Phone, NOW!

But texting got complicated and soon I was talking with my son as I drove home, parked…still on the phone (thank you blue-tooth) got the dog outta the back seat, put the leash on him, and walked him through the condo complex where he could do what dogs do when they walk…still on the phone. At last nearing my complex after a pleasantly warm evening walk, my son and I finished our conversation. I glanced down at my phone as I walked with the dog.

9:06 pm

Six minutes past the midnight Eastern time deadline.

I

MISSED

it.

Deadlines exist for a reason.  Right?

I cried.  Right then and there.  I said it out loud.  “I didn’t post.  I failed.” And I teared right up.

buddy (like) puppy

That Face! Buddy Needs A Walk

I knew I could no longer post for the challenge. I was no longer eligible for the prizes. Not that the prizes ever even mattered I told myself. It was more my commitment to me and the community. I said I would do it every day for 31 days. I do what I commit to doing.  So, I did what teachers, and readers and writers do. I came right upstairs, opened my computer, and blogged about the heart crushing experience.

I may not be able to post on the website for SOLday#16, but I can post to my blog site, and it is still today here in California.  So, there is some solace.  There is also solace in knowing I cared for my friend, for my son, and for my dog, Buddy, tonight. And I still took time to write.

 

About Be Strong. Be Courageous. Be You

Principal at the Sweetest Little School by the Sea at the south end of Los Angeles Harbor. Working to make the world a little more awesome.
This entry was posted in blogging, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Oh No!

  1. jarhartz says:

    Oh, I ‘m so sorry. But this post is worth the miss. Writing your heart out is the best kind of writing. You can have my prize if I make it and get it. You win with this post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh no! You HAVEN’T failed!!! You are here! You showed up!!! The success is in that!!! I agree with Julieanne…you WIN with this beautiful post!!! Keep writing. Keep showing up! I’m glad you’re here!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. missmoyer says:

    You continued to write!
    You showed your friend how much you care for her.
    You spent quality time with people you love.
    They all sound like wins to me!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. dogtrax says:

    No fail at all …. you were in a SOL time warp that came back around to pick you up …. now, you’re here … that’s success …
    Kevin

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Erika Victor says:

    You succeeded in all the ways that really matter and wrote a beautiful post to boot. I live “in the future” here in Malaysia and time zones do my head in sometimes!

    Like

  6. franmcveigh says:

    Dayna,
    Life happens! You would be thoughtful if a student or teacher missed a deadline as well. It’s not the end of the world! Great post! And you are meeting your goal for writing!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. aggiekesler says:

    I know how you feel! I missed one day, too, and I still feel awful about it. I was telling my friend about it at dinner, and she said, you should post about missing your post, and then I found yours! Sorry you missed the deadline, but glad you still wrote! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Dana Murphy says:

    Look at all these encouraging comments! I agree with all of them. You didn’t lose, you didn’t fail. You still showed up today and you’re still writing. At the end of the month, you can ask yourself, “Did I develop a daily writing habit? Did I become a valued member of a writing community?” And you will answer YES.

    I’m sorry you missed the deadline, but you’re still a valued writer in my eyes. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. elsie says:

    A day when you celebrated a friend’s birthday, dealt with mom things, tended to the needs of your pet, enjoyed the company of a date with a lovely dinner and lived your normal daily life, but you missed a 9 pm curfew. I know you are disappointed in yourself, but you still continued on. There are bumps in the road. We go over or around them and continue on the journey. You are on that journey.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Mindi Rench says:

    The Eastern time zone got me earlier this week, too! However, it sounds like your full day was worth missing one deadline. I enjoy my writing a lot more when I don’t stress about posting by 11pm Central time. This month of writing is for me to cultivate a habit…. and it sounds like this is true for you as well. I LOVED this post!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. eloularson says:

    I loved this post! Even though you missed the deadline you wrote in such a way that I could picture your evening and see the care you take of all those lucky enough to have you in your life. The post may have been a tad late, but it was done and it was done well. Bravo!

    Liked by 1 person

    • daywells says:

      Oh. My. Gosh! This comment means so much ! Thank you. I’m crazy writing for today’s blog. I got ahead once. It was awesome. Maybe that’ll happen again. Best to you!

      Like

  12. I’m sorry you missed the posting time, Dayna, but as others have said, you can’t be so hard on yourself about it. Your busy evening was full of life, and you can’t write if you don’t live. And you did write! Bravo, Dayna!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

