What a difference a text makes

black hands texting

What a difference a text makes 

An esteemed colleague and friend texted me on my way home from a long day and dinner tonight.  “Thinking about you & wishing you the best…” he wrote.

Wow.  We texted back and forth. A little personal exchange, but mostly just shining the light of appreciation on each other and the difficult but amazingly good work we do in the lives of young people each and every day.

“Your work continues to infuse mine with depth and breadth. So much gratitude” I wrote back.

“You are one of the champs. I’ve such a devoted fan.” was his response.

This is one of the most complimentary connections I have ever made in my life – professional or otherwise.  This colleague is a Jedi master. And I am. . . Well. I’m “just” me. But there is something he is connecting to in me that resonates. And it raises “me” in my own esteem.  (Weird, right?  A gift.  Right?) I have learned so much from him. I have learned that to compliment someone on their work or their passion is more than good. It is extraordinarily exquisite. It lifts, buoys, but it does even more than that. It can put a person – albeit one who does good work on a daily basis but maybe doesn’t always believe or appreciate all the good work she does – up into orbit. And it can inspire her to do more, be more, continue.

I find myself seeking for ways to pay this forward. To find the spark in others and acknowledge it and reflect the exquisiteness of it back to them so they too may basque in the knowing that what they do and who they are matter to the world in incredibly rich and important ways.

Thank you, rock star colleague and friend for your support, for SEEING me and acknowledging the connection made in the work we do.

 

About Be Strong. Be Courageous. Be You

Principal at the Sweetest Little School by the Sea at the north end of Los Angeles Harbor. Working to make the world a little more awesome.
This entry was posted in mirrors, Passion for teaching, SOL2016, thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to What a difference a text makes

  1. Ali Vrbas says:

    This matches the tone and sentiment in my own post today. I really want to become this colleague of yours, spreading gratitude and appreciation one text or post it note or hug or smile at a time. I really like that way that you took a brief interaction and turned it into such a beautiful piece. I especially like the reference to him as a Jedi master and I don’t even like Star Wars (Star Tours? I’m not even sure!).

    Liked by 1 person

    • daywells says:

      Ha ha – me either – the whole Star Wars reference. But somehow learning from someone whose experience is SO different from ones own makes it relevant. I want to be that colleague too.

      Like

  2. Veronica says:

    Yes. Coolest thing is when we do the same thing for our students. Still trying to master that one — you give me hope! The Hope Awakens!
    .. sorry, you got me going with Jedi there..

    A great read!

    Thank you!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ramona says:

    Love these words: “And it can inspire her to do more, be more, continue.” That’s what our commendations can do for students, for fellow teachers, and for family members. Here’s to taking the time to notice!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Karen says:

    I have a colleague that “lifts” me in this way. She is amazing and still takes the time to find the sparks in “just me”. And yes! We can do this for others too – especially our students! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. franmcveigh says:

    Dayna,
    Love, love, love this!
    “I have learned that to compliment someone on their work or their passion is more than good. It is extraordinarily exquisite. It lifts, buoys, but it does even more than that.:

    You do this ALL the time! But it does feel different as the receiver rather than the giver! Thanks for this insight! Have another WONDERFUL day!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. elsie says:

    A kind word, a compliment goes a long way for the one on the receiving end. Such a great reminder, words matter. Your words always inspire me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • daywells says:

      Thank you, Lee Anne. Tis such a powerful collegiality we have found through writing together! Have a great day of discovery … Don’t you awake wondering what you’ll see to write on today?!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. margaretsmn says:

    “Raises me in my own esteem.” I love having people around who do this and, like you, want to do this for others.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

