I Work in a World of Possible.

I work in a world of educated women

men in trousers and button-downed shirts

sensible shoes that shift shift shift

down century old wood-floored hallways

where before any of us became us,

hundreds and thousands of children walked

in straight and not so quiet lines

on their way to growing up

becoming

Along their way each of us

growing, becoming too.

I work in a world of busy parents

shuttling children to the front gate

backpacks ready

shoes tied and oft untied

lunches packed 

milk money tucked into jackets 

Uniforms faded now mid-year, navy and tan

Shouts of “I love you.” “Have a good day” and “Be good!”

echo across asphalt playground

I work in a world of strong women

answering calls from concerned parents,

neighbors, official requests.

Whose language shifts without seam

Good morning,  Buenos Dias

Sonrisas and warm rolls caked with sugar.

Strength beneath their kindnesses

storms may rage but calm controlled manners prevail.

I work in a world called elementary

but only by those who do not truly know

the complexity of teaching 

the most basic components of  life, 

learning to brand new human beings

whose lives are as deep and rich as

the Pacific Ocean near which we come each day.

I work in a world of people, ideas, dreams

Where everyone is becoming more of themselves

Messes and misunderstandings

Fix-it-ups and try agains

I don’t get its

and You just don’t get it YETs

You just don’t get it YETs

A world where everyone is trying

where everyone is learning

I work in a world of possible

PFgarden960-e1383594298644

About Be Strong. Be Courageous. Be You

Jus' tryin to do my part to make the world a little more wonderful.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to I Work in a World of Possible.

  1. Rena Hawkins says:

    This is beautiful! Very inspiring! I too work in a world of possible and love every minute of it!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tara Smith says:

    A world where everyone is trying
    where everyone is learning
    I work in a world of possible

    Yes! This is what I love about what we do for a living…and about your post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Cathy says:

    I love this! I can hear the wood under those century old floors… creaking and continuing to support those children finding their ways. This is so beautifully said Dayna.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Janie says:

    I love this! I especially love the “yet” – this is something we’ve been working on, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What a beautiful poem! I love the way it progresses all the way up until the end. The last line is my favorite!
    You gave a poem a shot and rocked it to the top!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dayna, there is so much to love in this poem. I love the optimism and the image of children walking down the hallway “on their way to growing up/becoming.” But most of all I love those final lines. “I work in a world of possible.” I will carry them with me throughout the day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • daywells says:

      Thank you Catherine. I’ve been afraid of writing poetry and wanted to include more picture painting kinds of words. Hard! Poets just do such a beautiful job of that.

      Like

  7. elsie says:

    This world is the best place to work, because you make a difference in this world. Love the fine details in this world of possible.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. margaretsmn says:

    I love this! I am sending it on to my principal. We work here, too, in a place of professionals and fix-it-ups and try-agains. The work we do here is important.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment